Rat für Formgebung Background about

We add value to brands by design.

Design makes brands strong –
and companies successful. 

Design Counts

You need the right engine under the bonnet an any time, otherwise you have no chance against the competition.

DANIEL BANNER, PHOTOGRAPHER, HAMBURG BILLHÖRNER RÖHRENDAMM

Design is orientation. Design is differentiation. Design makes brands strong – and companies successful: as Germany’s leading authority on design and brands, the German Design Council works to promote society’s awareness of design and supports companies on all matters relating to brand and design development. We provide a forum for interdisciplinary knowledge transfer and give our members a competitive edge: independently, internationally and competently.

Press and media

The German Design Council is fully committed to championing good design. You'll find current information, press materials and photos of our events in the press section of our website.

To press page

Our Awards Awards for an enhanced reputation.

German Design Award, German Brand Award, ICONIC AWARDS, Automotive Brand Contest and more: the competitions organised by the German Design Council are held in high regard around the globe and far beyond the confines of the industry. Participation underscores companies and designers’ commitment to excellence while the awards provide them with a valuable marketing tool to position their products even more successfully in the market.

More about German Design Council awards 

A unique global network. Compelling proof of your design expertise.
Excellent competitive advantages:
foundation members benefit greatly from the German Design Council’s services and prestige.

290
foundation members

Over 290 well-known companies in a range of sectors are already enjoying the benefits of foundation membership. They are all united in their belief that strong brands need strong design – a synergy that produces lasting benefits and opens up new markets. Your company is a leader in brand management and design and you want to expand on this success? Then become a German Design Council foundation member and benefit from the alliance of the best.

Membership benefits
The German Design Council and its foundation members
Events for the members

Socially responsible. Future-oriented.
The Major German Brands.

Milestones of Design Culture

German brands – fascination and vision: in its fifth edition of the publication “The Major German Brands”, the German Design Council once again presents milestones of design culture.

Find out more

designreport

Edition 4/17

The 'designreport' views design as a discipline that encompasses the fields of technology, business, art and culture. It addresses everyone who designs, who invests in design and who makes decisions about design.

To the website

Brand and Design Academy On the agenda: inspiring your success.

Conferences, congresses, working groups and seminars on current design and brand topics: use the Brand and Design Academy's events to deepen your specialist knowledge, connect with first-rate experts and draw inspiration for your success.

To Brand and Design Academy

Created by the German Parliament, sponsored by German industry:
for over 60 years, the German Design Council has been working to promote design as an economic factor and make Germany one of the world’s most successful design nations.

Structure and tasks

The German Design Council’s wide-ranging work includes promoting young talent, a comprehensive range of consulting services for companies and extensive knowledge transfer with seminars, presentations and a large library.

  • Promoting design / promoting young talent
    • The future belongs to up-and-coming designers. They ensure that Germany remains one of the most successful design nations. The German Design Council supports them with a range of projects and initiatives: as one of the world’s leading centres of excellence for communication and knowledge transfer, it offers newcomers an influential platform on which to present themselves, opens up access to crucial networks and, with young talent competitions, boosts public awareness of their work.

      With the Deutsches Design Museum Foundation, the German Design Council has created a separate organisation offering initiatives to get young people interested in design, such as the nationwide “Discover Design” school programme. The non-profit foundation works to promote all aspects of design as a crucial element of education and culture, science and business. Its digital picture archive makes a valuable contribution to knowledge of German design history: over 42,000 image records that are currently being collated and digitised document product design in the 20th century – and will made be publicly available in the future.

      Find out more:
      Deutsches Design Museum Foundation
      ein&zwanzig
      German Design Award Newcomer

  • Brand and design consulting
    • Design makes brands successful. That’s why the German Design Council helps companies to successfully implement brand and design strategies – with its extensive range of services ensuring that design can help give them that competitive edge. This includes consulting and assistance on strategies, concept development, communication and internationalisation, providing basic knowledge for putting them into practice with design partners and networking with suitable experts. With trend and thematic studies, brand and design audits and concepts for the effective communication of design expertise, the German Design Council is the experienced, impartial authority that supports companies on all issues relating to brand and design.

  • Knowledge transfer

60 years of design culture.

Set in motion by the German Parliament and established as a foundation in 1953, the German Design Council is today one of the world’s leading competence centres for communication and knowledge transfer in design. A glance at its more than sixty years of history reveals the people and events that have left their mark on it, as well as how the Council itself has exerted a formative influence on design history from the beginnings of the post-war period to the present day.

The history of the German Design Council

awards

Our competitions enhance reputations and pay tribute to unique, outstanding design.

To our awards

designreport

designreport sees design as a discipline that balances the conflicting priorities of technology, business, art and culture.

To the website

Jobs & Volunteers

We are growing and continuously seeking support for our team.

More information here

Rat für Formgebung

Wir schaffen Markenmehrwert durch Design.

Design macht Marken stark –
und Unternehmen erfolgreich.

Design ist Orientierung. Design ist Differenzierung. Design macht Marken stark – und Unternehmen erfolgreich: Als die Design- und Markeninstanz Deutschlands stärkt der Rat für Formgebung das gesellschaftliche Bewusstsein für Gestaltung und unterstützt Unternehmen in allen Belangen ihrer Marken- und Designentwicklung. Wir bieten ein Forum für den branchenübergreifenden Wissenstransfer und sorgen für Wettbewerbsvorteile unserer Mitglieder: unabhängig, erfahren, international.

Presse und Medien

Mit umfassendem Engagement setzt sich der Rat für Formgebung für gutes Design ein. Aktuelle Informationen, Pressematerialien und Fotos zu unseren Veranstaltungen finden Sie in unserem Pressebereich.

Zur Presseseite

Unsere Awards Durch Preise an Profil gewinnen.

Ob German Design Award, German Brand Award, ICONIC AWARDS, Automotive Brand Contest oder andere: Die vom Rat für Formgebung initiierten Wettbewerbe genießen weltweit ein hohes Ansehen, weit über Fachkreise hinaus. Mit ihrer Teilnahme unterstreichen Unternehmen und Designer ihre Kompetenz – mit den Auszeichnungen gewinnen sie ein wertvolles Marketinginstrument, um ihre Produkte noch erfolgreicher im Markt zu positionieren.

Mehr zu den Awards des Rat für Formgebung 

Ein globales, einzigartiges Netzwerk. Der wirkungsvolle Beleg Ihrer Designkompetenz. Exzellente Wettbewerbsvorteile: Stiftungsmitglieder profitieren vielfach von Renommée und Angebot des Rat für Formgebung.

280
Stiftungsmitglieder

Über 280 namhafte Unternehmen unterschiedlicher Branchen nutzen bereits die Vorteile einer Stiftungsmitgliedschaft. Sie verbindet eine große Überzeugung: Starke Marken brauchen ein starkes Design – nur in diesem Zusammenspiel lassen sich nachhaltig Gewinne erzielen und neue Märkte erobern. Hat auch Ihr Unternehmen in Markenführung und Design viel erreicht und möchten Sie diese Erfolge ausbauen? Werden Sie Stiftungsmitglied beim Rat für Formgebung und profitieren Sie von der Allianz der Besten.

Die Vorteile einer Mitgliedschaft
Alle Stiftungsmitglieder im Überblick
Stifterevents

Verantwortungsvoll. Zukunftsorientiert.
Die großen deutschen Marken.

Meilensteine der Designkultur

Faszination und Mythos deutscher Marken: Auch mit der fünften Ausgabe der Publikation „Die großen deutschen Marken“ versammelt der Rat für Formgebung wieder Meilensteine der Designkultur.

Mehr erfahren

designreport

Ausgabe 3/2017

Der designreport versteht Design als eine Disziplin, die sich im Spannungsfeld von Technik,
Wirtschaft, Kunst und Kultur bewegt. Er wendet sich an alle, die gestalten, in Design
investieren und über Design entscheiden. 

Zum designreport

Marken-und Designakademie Auf unserer Agenda: Vielfältige Impulse für Ihren Erfolg.

Ob Konferenzen, Kongresse, Arbeitskreise oder Seminare zu aktuellen Themen rund um Design und Marke: Mit den Veranstaltungen der Marken- und Designakademie vertiefen Sie Ihr Fachwissen, treffen auf hochkarätige Experten und erhalten wertvolle Impulse für Ihren Erfolg.

Zur Marken- und Designakademie des Rat für Formgebung

Initiiert vom Deutschen Bundestag, gestiftet von der deutschen Industrie, gefördert von seinen Kooperationspartnern: Seit über 60 Jahren trägt der Rat für Formgebung dazu bei, Design als Wirtschaftsfaktor zu stärken und Deutschland zu einer erfolgreichen Designnation zu machen.

Struktur & Aufgaben

Zu dem vielfältigen Engagement des Rat für Formgebung gehören die Nachwuchsförderung, ein umfassendes Beratungsangebot für Unternehmen und die vielseitige Wissensvermittlung durch Seminare, Referate und eine Bibliothek.

  • Designförderung/Nachwuchsförderung
    • Die Zukunft gehört den Nachwuchsdesignern. Sie sorgen dafür, dass Deutschland eine der erfolgreichsten Designnationen bleibt. Der Rat für Formgebung unterstützt sie mit unterschiedlichen Projekten und Initiativen: Als eines der weltweit führenden Kompetenzzentren für Kommunikation und Wissenstransfer bietet er Newcomern eine wichtige Präsentationsplattform. Er eröffnet ihnen entscheidende Netzwerke und sorgt mit Nachwuchswettbewerben für öffentliche Wahrnehmung ihrer Arbeiten.

      Mit der Stiftung Deutsches Design Museum hat der Rat für Formgebung ein eigenes Organ ins Leben gerufen, um mit Initiativen wie dem bundesweiten Schulprogramm „entdecke design“ bereits Kinder und Jugendliche für Design zu begeistern. Die gemeinnützige Stiftung ist operativ tätig und fördert das Themenspektrum Design als prägendes Element von Bildung und Kultur, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft. Mit ihrem digitalen Bildarchiv leistet sie einen wertvollen Beitrag zur Aufarbeitung der deutschen Designhistorie: Über 42.000 Bilddatensätze, die aktuell erschlossen und digitalisiert werden, dokumentieren das Produktdesign des 20. Jahrhunderts – und werden in Zukunft öffentlich nutzbar sein.

      Mehr erfahren über:
      Stiftung Deutsches Design Museum
      ein&zwanzig
      German Design Award Newcomer
  • Marken- und Designberatung
    • Design macht Marken erfolgreich. Der Rat für Formgebung unterstützt daher Unternehmen bei der erfolgreichen Implementierung von Marken- und Designstrategien – und sorgt mit einem umfassenden Leistungsangebot dafür, dass Design für sie zu einem Wettbewerbsvorteil werden kann. Dazu gehören die Beratung und Begleitung bei Strategie, Konzeption und Kommunikation sowie bei der Internationalisierung, die Vermittlung von Grundlagen für eine zielgerichtete Umsetzung mit Designpartnern und die Vernetzung mit den richtigen Experten. Mit Trend- und Themenstudien, Marken- und Designaudits sowie Konzepten für eine wirkungsvolle Kommunikation von Designkompetenz ist der Rat für Formgebung die erfahrene und neutrale Instanz, die Unternehmen in allen Fragen von Marke und Design unterstützt.
  • Wissen
    • Die Bereitstellung und der Austausch von Wissen gehören zu den Kernaufgaben des Rat für Formgebung. Mit einem hochkarätigen Angebot an Seminaren und Workshops, mit unseren Studien und den Aktivitäten unserer Stiftung Deutsches Design Museum sowie einer umfangreichen Bibliothek bieten wir eine in Deutschland einzigartige Plattform für Design- und Markenwissen und sorgen für Wettbewerbsvorteile unserer Mitglieder. Wir stärken das Bewusstsein für die Bedeutung von Gestaltung – und prägen den deutschen Designdiskurs maßgeblich mit.

      Mehr erfahren über:
      Marken- und Designakademie
      Die Bibliothek des Rat für Formgebung
      Die Studien des Rat für Formgebung

60 Jahre Designkultur

Initiiert vom Deutschen Bundestag, 1953 als Stiftung gegründet, ist der Rat für Formgebung heute eines der weltweit führenden Kompetenzzentren für Kommunikation und Wissenstransfer im Bereich Design. Welche Persönlichkeiten und Ereignisse ihn entscheidend prägten und wie entscheidend der Rat selbst die Designgeschichte der Nachkriegszeit bis heute mit prägt, zeigt ein Blick auf seine über sechzigjährige Geschichte.

Die Geschichte des Rat für Formgebung