A first-rate prize for first-rate design: the German Design Award.

How is design evolving – around the world? What are the groundbreaking trends, and who’s behind them? The German Design Award is one of the most widely recognised international design awards, honouring first-rate entries in the field of product and communications design.

To the German Design Award website 

The next events

13.04.2018 Call for entries German Design Awards 2019
08.06.2018 Grant programm Deadline
13.07.2018 Application deadline
02.08.2018 03.08.2018 Jury session in Frankfurt am Main
20.08.2018 Notification of jury's decision
08.02.2019 Awards ceremony in the context of Ambiente fair
08.02.2019 12.02.2019 Exhibition Excellent Product Design Frankfurt Fair, Galleria Nord
08.02.2019 24.02.2019 Exhibition Excellent Communications Design Museum Angewandte Kunst, Frankfurt

Press releases

German Design Award

The jury for the 2019 German Design Awards has announced the finalists for the Newcomer Award. Of the 188 talented young designers from German design schools who were nominated, the following have been short-listed to win the €15,000 prize: Essi Johanna Glomb, Luzia Hein, Gabriel Müller, the designer team of Luisa Rubisch and Rasa Weber, and Frauke Zoë Taplik.

Read more >
German Design Award

Once again, a search for excellence in design has begun for the German Design Award. The registration phase ends on 13 July. The German Design Award 2019 has entered the starting phase. The goal: to discover, present, and honour unique trends in design. The experts of the German Design Council are constantly nominating the best international products and projects for participation.

Read more >
German Design Award

Suspense until the very end: it was announced only at the 2018 German Design Awards ceremony that Philipp Weber was named Newcomer of the Year. Weber prevailed over a total of 132 nominees put forward by German design schools. More than 1,300 guests attended the ceremonial presentation and celebrated this special honour, which is awarded annually, together with the young designer.

Read more >


If you have further questions, do not hesitate to contact us.