Press & Media

About us

The German Design Council is one of the world’s leading competence centres for design. Created by the German Parliament and sponsored by German industry, it has been supporting companies on all matters relating to brand and design development for more than 65 years and works to promote German design as a national economic factor. It plays a key role in shaping Germany’s design culture and offers a unique forum for knowledge transfer in the field of brand and design expertise.

Press releases

For over 66 years the German Design Council has been one of the world's leading centres of expertise for communication and knowledge transfer in the field of design, branding and innovation – and it has just expanded its international network even further by setting up a subsidiary in Shanghai.

Read more >
German Brand Award

The big winners are: Bosch, comdirect bank, Interbrand, Kaldewei, Dortmunder U, LSG Lufthansa Service Holding, Novia by AXENT Switzerland, Markilux, Fraport AG, 123erfasst and Veramaris. The title “Brand Manager of the Year” goes to Dr Annette Becker from Bosch Power Tools.

Read more >
German Innovation Award

Yesterday evening, on 28 May 2019, for the second time, the winners of the German Innovation Awards were honoured at a gala event held at the Museum of Technology in Berlin. More than 350 invited guests from industry, politics and the media attended the exclusive ceremony. The innovation competition is administered by the German Design Council, which was formed in 1953 as an initiative of the German Federal Parliament.

Read more >
Rat für Formgebung

The German Design Council has decided to discontinue production of the magazine designreport. The 2/19 issue – which appeared on 15 April 2019 – will be the last print edition of the trade magazine.

Read more >
German Design Award

From now on, international companies, designers, architects and agencies are invited to register for the German Design Awards 2020. The German Design Council will check your project and let you know whether it meets the criteria to receive a nomination – this process ensures the standard of excellence embodied by these awards. Registration closes on 10 July 2019.

Read more >